• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

What is the difference between free and paid web hosted blog?

I just created a free wordpress blog. Although I am new to blogging I have read that a paid hosting blog is better than a free one. What I don’t understand is the difference. I want to invest time and money in this blog and I would appreciate some help.

Uniqueness (you're choose of a domain name)
Reliability
Search Engine Rankings
Bandwidth and Storage
Support and Assistance

Those are the five main reasons you should invest into paid web hosting, rather than having a no provide able free web hosting.

Bilby

For a different point of view.

I know you can have you own domain on free Blogger, I strongly suspect you can have one on free Wordpress.

The reliability depends on the host. It can be higher or it can be lower. Wordpress has an extremely good record for uptime -- I doubt you could get much better.

Search engines do not discriminate between free and self-hosted Wordpress blogs.

Bandwidth and storage -- I do not see how this is an issue for either option.

Wordpress support is automated and essentially the same for both options. But if it is self-hosted Wordpress staff have not access to your blog. Down side, no direct help. Upside, no third party down time secondary to a DMCA or adult content complaint.

The main different is that for the paid option you have to pay. For the visitor to the blog they are essentially the same.

sbatz1972

I think the difference between free and paid blog hosting is the fact that you get a lot of adverts on your blog that you do not get paid for. I am saying in reference to the free blog hosting sites. You will have to contend with the adverts on your site and not get paid for them. In reference to the fact that you should or should not pay for blog hosting, I would definitely pay.