• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

What are your petpeeves in website designs?

As an internet surfers, I had encountered all kinds of websites under the sun. I had been using the internet since I was 12 years old and I just recently turned 30. That is like 18 years of internet surfing. I decided to share today my petpeeves to many websites I had visited.

1. Flash bombarded site- Dear Website owner, not everyone have a lightning fast internet connection. Putting a lot of Macromedia flash on our website either crashes my browser or loads your website for eternity.

2. Slide show articles - They were fun to read if you have superior internet connection but its a torture to load if your internet is slow.

3. Ads with self installing apps- this is the most annoying thing about browsing the internet with a mobile gadget, Those apps forcing to install their self and they were part of the ads of the site.

4. Awful color schemes.- Imagine a website where the everything is in neon colors an the text are blinking. Sites with such design can give seizures to an epileptic.

For me, what is annoying is anything that moves very slowly. It is all right if the flash is really as fast as the flash or if the video is quick and short. But there are designs that are called graphic-heavy that it takes a minute before the entire webpage is displayed. That's really annoying and if I happen to be surfing onlyl, definitely I would leave that site and mark it. With color, I sometimes get eye strain with too much kaleidoscopic design but that's my personal problem and I don't blame the designer.