• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Do you hate bidding sites like freelancer?

i used to hate bidding sites like freelancer and elance due to the process one goes through to find a client , but after i started using freelancer i realised that it's a great platform to fetch long term clients. what do you think of these sites?

I am a member of Freelancer but I never bid for a job because I am extremely busy at that time when I had signed up. But I joined the site which is formerly called Odesk, now called Upwork. I applied in some job posts and I was hired 3 times. The first and the second one was article writing and I earned a decent amount from those jobs. The previous one, I did Website Research and earned a pretty good amount. Due to extreme competition and that the site seems saturated with applicants, I took a break from bidding projects. It is not as easy as I initially thought.

To get a long term client, you should have this quality called 'perseverance'. It is not easy at first but if you keep trying, you can earn the amount you wanted. My friend currently earns about $1,000 in a month just for Website Research. She is not a techie person and admitted she is not very good even until now, but she's earning that amount which is considered big in my country.

While I do have an account with freelancer I have to admit that I've not been active on there and most of the time there's jobs on there that I'm either not interested in or I have no chance of getting even if I did bid, so I have to say from what I've seen I'm not a fan.

I think there are better ways to earn money online but that's just my opinion and others may well find sites like that quite lucrative.